Tuesday, May 18, 2010

The 2010 BET Awards Nominees + Slated Performances

BET is back with their 9th annual award show and hopefully this year will make up for last year's dud, as told by the viewers.

You can see how much the new artists have staked their claims in Hip-Hop and R&B with Drake and Nicki Minaj receiving nominations. The two Young Money members have received 3 nominations as a group and individually Drake earned 3 nods while Nicki Minaj earned 2 independently.

Very impressive considering that neither one of them have yet to release albums. This is all going off of the strength of their mixtapes.

Leading the pack this year is Jay-Z with 5 nominations: Best Male Hip Hop Artist, Best Collaboration, Video of the Year (where he is nominated twice once for "Empire State of Mind" and the other for "Run This Town"), and Viewer's Choice. Alicia Keys, Melanie Fiona, Trey Songz and  Beyonce aren't far behind with 4 nominations a piece.

Queen Latifah will be the host of this year's festivities that is scheduled to air live from the Los Angeles Shrine Auditorium on Sunday, June 27, 2010 at 8pm ET/PT on BET and online at BET.com.

Already tapped to perform is Diddy and his Dirty Money crew, Drake, Nicki Minaj, and Trey Songz. Hopefully the roster of performances will show more growth leading up to the event.

Isn't it interesting that Dirty Money have been nominated for an award and they don't even have an album out yet? Oh, sorry... I gave away that info before showing the nominees. I just found that to be interesting. It is a sign of how things have changed in regards to music. Having a body of work isn't really considered necessary anymore?

Check out the nominees below.
Best Female R&B Artist

Mary J. Blige
Melanie Fiona
Alicia Keys

Best Male R&B Artist

Chris Brown
Raheem DeVaughn
Trey Songz

Best Female Hip-Hop Artist
Ester Dean
Lil Kim
Nicki Minaj

Best Male Hip-Hop Artist


Best New Artist

Justin Bieber
Melanie Fiona
Nicki Minaj
Young Money

Best Gospel

The Anointed Pace Sisters
Kirk Franklin Presents Artists United For Haiti
Tamela Mann
Marvin Sapp
Vickie Winans

Best Group
Black Eyed Peas
Diddy-Dirty Money
New Boyz
Young Money

Best Collaboration

Beyonce f/ Lady Gaga – “Video Phone”
B.o.B. f/ Bruno Mars – “Nothin’ On You”
Drake & Trey Songz – “Successful”
Drake f/ Lil Wayne, Kanye West, & Eminem – “Forever”
Jay-Z & Alicia Keys – “Empire State of Mind”
Trey Songz f/ Fabolous – “Say Ahh”

Video Director of the Year

Benny Boom
Gil Green
Anthony Mandler
Chris Robinson
Hype Williams

Video of the Year

Beyonce f/ Lady Gaga – “Video Phone”
B.o.B. f/ Bruno Mars – “Nothin’ On You”
Melanie Fiona – “It Kills Me”
Jay-Z & Alicia Keys – “Empire State of Mind”
Jay-Z, Rihanna & Kanye West – “Run This Town”

Best Actress

Taraji P. Henson
Regina King
Zoe Saldana
Gabourey Sidibe

Best Actor

Quinton Aaron
Don Cheadle
Idris Elba
Jamie Foxx
Denzel Washington

Best Movie

Law Abiding Citizen
Michael Jackson’s This Is It
Precious: Based on the Novel “Push” by Sapphire
The Blindside

YoungStars Award

Selena Gomez
Lil JJ
Keke Palmer
Willow Smith
Tyler James Williams

Subway Sports Woman of the Year

Tamika Catchings
Vanessa James
Candace Parker
Serena Williams
Venus Williams

Subway Sportsman of the Year

Carmelo Anthony
Usain Bolt
Kobe Bryant
LeBron James
Tiger Woods

Viewers Choice

Beyonce – “Sweet Dreams”
Jay-Z & Alicia Keys – “Empire State of Mind”
Monica – “Everything to Me”
Rihanna f/ Young Jeezy – “Hard”
Trey Songz f/ Fabolous – “Say Aah”
Young Money ( Lil Wayne, Gudda Gudda, Nicki Minaj, Jae Millz, Drake, Tyga,) f/ Lloyd – “Bed Rock”

Best International Act

Kojo Antwi (Ghana)
Chipmunk (UK)
Dizzee Rascal (UK)
Estelle (UK)
Hip Hop Pantsula (HHP) (South Africa)
K'NAAN (Somali)
M.I. (Nigeria)
P-Square (Nigeria)
Corinne Bailey Rae(UK)
Sade (UK)

Centric Award

Melanie Fiona
Chrisette Michele

Post a Comment

On the charts...